Supporting the Fundamental Rights Of Consumers
To Be Represented By NASUCA Members In All
State And Federal Forums In Matters Relating To
Utility Restructuring And Competition
WHEREAS, one of the essential purposes of NASUCA is to assist its members in the representation of utility consumer interests at the state and federal levels; and

WHEREAS, administrative, legislative, and judicial proceedings are ongoing that will dramatically alter the manner in which consumers receive utility service in the future; and

WHEREAS, the authority of NASUCA members to represent the interests of consumers has been called into question in certain proceedings under the Telecommunications Act of 1996 as well as a federal court challenge to a state electric restructuring proceeding; and

WHEREAS, the consumer interests in these critical matters involving utility restructuring and competition must be given the specific representation provided by NASUCA members.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT NASUCA supports the efforts of its members to represent the interests of consumers in all state and federal forums in matters involving utility restructuring and competition; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT NASUCA shall take such actions as are appropriate, including but not limited to the filing of amicus briefs in support of the ability of NASUCA members to participate in utility proceedings, in order to protect the interests of utility consumers; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT NASUCA authorizes its Executive Committee to develop specific positions and to take appropriate actions consistent with the terms of this resolution. The Executive Committee shall advise the membership of any proposed action prior to taking action if possible. In any event the Executive Committee shall notify the membership of any action pursuant to this resolution.

Approved by NASUCA:

By Faxed Ballot

July 14, 1997

Submitted by:

NASUCA Executive Committee

Irwin A. Popowsky (PA), President
Frederick J. Schmidt (NV)
Stephen G. Ward (ME)
Billy Jack Gregg (WV)
Martha S. Hogerty (MO)
Robert F. Manifold (WA)
Elizabeth A. Noël (DC)
Jack Shreve (FL)
Patricia A. Stowell (DE)
Robert S. Tongren (OH)
Michael J. Travieso (MD)